Giveaway Day 3 + garbanzo bean flour tutorial!

Hey there!

Today is Day 3 of our five-day free giveaway, so head on over the Amazon.com and check out our ebook! Like the recipes or the information? Please write us a good review of the things you like so we can be sure to incorporate your suggestions into our next book!

Book Cover

Garbanzo Bean Flour Tutorial

Do you ever have those insane urges to bake something and then discover that you don’t have a key ingredient? Late last night, I was whipping up a batch of our Twin’s Special Mix when I realized we were out of garbanzo bean flour.  Nonplussed, I pulled out the blender and proceeded to make my own!  Curious how I did it?  Here’s the instructions:

I made the flour in 2 batches of 2 cups in my blender which yielded a little more than two cups at the finish.

i took  2 cups of garbanzo beans, also known as chickpeas

20130904_190934

…and plopped them in the blender for 2 or 3 minutes.  We have a very powerful blender (not your average), so it might take a little longer for others.  When I peeked at it to see if my flour was done, it looked something like this:

20130904_191727

Notice how textured it looks?  That’s because some of the beans didn’t get fully ground up.  I shook the flour through a small strainer to get those bits out….and voila!

20130904_192441

Now, I could have ground it for a little while longer to get it even finer, but I’m ok with slightly chunky flour.  You probably won’t ever get it as fine as the store-bought variety, but it is certainly cheaper and easier. You know those bits that you just sifted out of the flour? You can throw them back in the blender to grind them up (in my case, there was even an untouched, whole bean that the blender missed!) or use a coffee grinder to just pulse them a bit.  THAT’S IT FOLKS!!!  See, I told you it was easy 🙂

Don’t forget to visit our Amazon.com store and download our ebook (and leave a little note to tell us how wonderful we are).

Cheers and Happy Baking!

Continue the Conversation!

